Home / The Buzz / Ohio Governor Mike DeWine Appoints New Tax Commissioner

Ohio Governor Mike DeWine Appoints New Tax Commissioner

mike dewine appoints new tax commissioner img

Patricia Harris Ohio Tax CommissionerGovernor Mike DeWine has announced that Patricia Harris will be Ohio’s new Tax Commissioner once confirmed by the Ohio Senate. As we mentioned in our previous SALT Buzz dated December 1, 2022, the former Tax Commissioner Jeff McClain retired at the end of 2022. Sarah O’Leary, who was a Deputy Tax Commissioner and the Chief Counsel under McClain, is currently serving as Interim Tax Commissioner. Commissioner Harris’ start date has not yet been confirmed.

In his press release about the appointment, Governor DeWine said “Patricia Harris’s extensive experience overseeing operations and employer services at Ohio Bureau of Worker’s Compensation (BWC) and experience in overseeing customers’ concerns with BWC injury claims will be particularly valuable in ensuring continued quality customer service at the Department of Taxation. Combined with her experience as a Chief Operating Officer, Patricia Harris is well qualified to lead the Ohio Department of Taxation.”

According to the DeWine press release, Harris began her career at BWC in 1991 as a claim representative, tasked with analyzing, investigating and making initial determinations on workers’ compensation claims. Throughout her time at the agency, Harris took on multiple leadership positions including regional training manager, service office manager, senior claims director, chief of claims services, and chief operating officer. Since becoming the chief operating officer in September 2020, Harris has been responsible for projects that impact overall agency performance, customer service, budgeting, and legislation.

Harris has an undergraduate degree in organizational leadership from Xavier University and a master of education from the University of Missouri. She was recognized as the BWC Employee of the Year in 2006 and was recently awarded the Ohio Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Individual Award.

ZHF congratulates Commissioner Harris on her new role.

Talk To One Of Our Professionals

Contact Us